Got fed up with need to "unlock" documents in Lion. Found option to disable it, stupidly located in SP>Time Machine>Options.— Ted Landau (@tedlandau) May 7, 2012
The oddest thing about this tip is that it wouldn’t need to exist if Lion’s autosave function wasn’t fundamentally broken. It’s a feature that’s supposed to add convenience, but all I think it’s done for me is help me accidentally save over other files I use as a starting document.
Bottom line – I like things being saved when I hit the save button. It’s nice having a generated backup in case something crashes, but the final commit to disk? That should belong to me. Hitting Command+S isn’t an inconvenience, it’s a confirmation that things are saved the way I want them to be saved. Autosave removes that.